How to Copy and Access the Training Database in RMS
Overview
The Training Database is a valuable tool that allows you to safely explore and learn within RMS. It lets you create a copy of your live RMS database and use it for training staff, experimenting with new features, or conducting test merges and data imports, all without affecting your live operations.
Any changes made while logged into the Training Database are completely isolated and will not impact your live RMS data.
The User Audit Trail Report will record a Copy to Training being completed.
We recommend using the Training Database for:
- Onboarding new team members and demonstrating system operations
- Testing configuration changes or exploring new features
- Running trial merges for Guests, Companies, or Travel Agents
- Performing test data imports
The Training Database reflects your live data at the time the copy is taken, with certain features intentionally disabled to provide a safe and effective sandbox environment for training and testing.
Tip! Payment Gateway transactions, Triggered Correspondence, Scheduled Reports, sending Correspondence (SMS and Email) and accessing existing Form Letters or Photos are all disabled in the Training Database.
Please Note! RMS is highly configurable. Some Terminology, User Access & Permissions, Images, Labels, and Functions used in these articles may differ from your setup. CLICK HERE to find out more.
Copy to Training
In the side menu of RMS, go to Utilities > Copy to Training.
- Select 'Yes' to confirm.
Please Note! The Copy to Training process can take up to 10 minutes to complete, based on the size of the live RMS database. A confirmation message will show on screen once complete.
Access
Open the RMS Login screen
- Enter the RMS Client ID, Username, and Password.
- Select 'Login to Training'.
- Select Yes to confirm.
Two-Factor Authentication will apply to the Training Database in the same way as it does to the live database at the time the copy was taken.
The Toolbar Menu will display in purple, and the word 'Training' will appear in the bottom left of the side menu when logged into the Training Database to indicate that the User is not operating in the live database.
Comments
0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.